A breath of fresh air….

by M


florence
I went to Florence last weekend. I didn’t used to like it, but now I wonder why I ever dissed it. I’ve been there a couple times for work. This time, however, I was able to walk the streets as a tourist.

I went to see the Duomo, Il Ponte Vecchio, the Palazzo Vecchio, and the Basilicata of Santa Croce to name a few. The highlights of my trip were Palazzo Pitti with it’s Museum of Costume History and the Uffizi. I never realized how much art there was in the Uffizi. Wherever I turned, there were works of art that until then I had only seen in history books. I happen to be a HUGE renaissance art lover, so you can imagine my joy in being able to have Filippo Lippi, Botticelli and Leonardo da Vincis’ works just a few inches away.

At Palazzo Pitti, the Costume History exhibit was great. It’s a pity that they don’t show the whole collection all at once -they constantly change the exhibit so that the clothes don’t get ruined by always being on a mannequin. Luckily, they also have a computer at hand where people are able to see the entire collection in their archives.

The best thing of all was Florence’s atmosphere….a mix of fashion forward people, your average Joe, and eclectic bohèmes all without that poser pretentiousness that is so easy to find in Milan.

The whole trip was a much needed breath of fresh air. Thank you Florence.

