Inside WHITE

by M

white exhibit

Sunday I had the chance to check out the WHITE exhibit in Milan. It was really inspiring to see the new talent that was showcased and the ideas that were proposed. The stand that caught my interest the most was Katerina Kouzmina’s.

A talented artist and embroiderer, Katerina founded the Scuola di Ricamo di Alta Moda of Rome, and is now starting up her own hand-embroidered bag line. Her school offers courses that teach various techniques used in embroidery for Haute Couture.

I had the chance to ask Katerina a few questions:

Your beadwork and embroidery are beautiful. How did you get involved in this field?

I created my first embroidered piece when I was in Kindergarten! More than ten years ago, I began working for an embroidery company in Italy and since then I never stopped.

Did you have formal training or are you self taught?

I trained at L’ecole Lesage in Paris; I learned the most working, studying the trade, comparing myself with others, reading books and constantly experimenting.

What inspires your work?

Ever since I opened my school for Haute Couture embroidery, I have been passing my knowledge on to others. Having young minds from all over Europe that want to learn and create things that are unique and special really inspires me.

Out of all the different techniques that you know, which one is your favorite and why?

My favorite embroidery technique is the Silk Ribbon (embroidery with ribbons). I am able to create embroidered landscapes that are so realistic that from a distance they look painted. This technique is not that well known in Italy, but it can also be used on clothing and accessories with the addition of beads and crystals.

What are your future plans?

To start off, I would like to add more unique and practical courses, to help begin a new craft and find a job during these difficult times. I’ve also started my own bag line with embroidered landscapes, that will be soon be available in the best shops in Italy. I hope that my new project goes well!

I hope it goes well too. In the meantime, I plan to take one of her courses very soon.

All work by Katerina Kouzmina.

 

